Each member is represented in EU-LIFE by its Director or Scientific Director. The Board of Directors (BoD) is the highest decision-making body of the alliance. The BoD elects two of its members to serve as a Chair and a Co-chair for a period of two years.

Currently, Giulio Superti-Fuga from the CeMM Research Center for Molecular Medicine of the Austrian Academy of Sciences is acting as Chair and Marta Miączyńska from the International Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology in Warsaw (IIMCB) as Co-Chair.


Giulio Superti-Fuga, CeMM


Marta Miączyńska, IIMCB


Simon Cook, Babraham Institute
Anders Lund, BRIC
Pavel Tomančák, CEITEC
Luis Serrano, CRG
Moises Mallo, IGC
Alain Puisieux, Institut Curie
Samuli Ripatti, FIMM
Dirk Schübeler, FMI
Pier Giuseppe Pelicci, IEO
John Vontas, IMBB FORTH
Maike Sander, MDC
René Medema, NKI
Christine Durinx, VIB


EU-LIFE Executive Director

Marta Agostinho


Emeritus directors

Geneviève Almouzni, Institut Curie
Iannis Talianidis, IMBB
Jaakko Kaprio, FIMM
Jo Bury, VIB
Jonathan Howard, IGC
Kristian Helin, BRIC
Mark Daly, FIMM
Markus Dettenhofer, MDC
Michael Wakelam, Babraham Institute
Susan Gasser, FMI
Thomas Sommer, MDC
Wolf Reik, BI