Joint reaction to the European Innovation Council Board’s statement on intellectual property

On the day of the European Education & Innovation Summit, research and innovation organisations respond to the EIC Board statement on the revision of the EIC intellectual property provisions.

Associations of knowledge transfer professionals, research and technology organisations, and universities today publish a joint reaction to the statement issued on 2 May by the Board of the European Innovation Council (EIC) on the Intellectual Property (IP) rules applicable to EIC Pathfinder and Transition projects.

We welcome the recommendations laid out by the EIC Board to the European Commission particularly on the definition of EIC inventors and for granting the EIC inventors access rights only after a certain time period after the end of the EIC project and only if specific conditions are met. This is a very positive step. However, there are still additional aspects highlighted in our previous statement that need further attention. We strongly encourage the European Commission to take them into account.

Our associations are committed to collaborating with the EIC Board and the European Commission to support translating the recommendations provided in our reaction into the future EIC work programme and Horizon Europe Model Grant Agreement.

 “We applaud the EIC’s ambition to strengthen the practice of starting new companies based on publicly funded science. The EC is wise to consider strengthening technology transfer practice across member states. However, the EIC inventor IPR rights must be exercised on the basis of national, regional and institutional regulations. We urge the European Commission to amend the rules and to translate the recommendations made by the many consortia of knowledge institutes active in technology transfer to the EIC board in the upcoming work programmes,” said Jérôme Van Biervliet, member of the EU-LIFE Policy Task Force and Managing Director at VIB.


Read the joint statement here



Association of European Science and Technology Transfer Professionals (ASTP), Aurora Universities Network (AURORA), CESAER, Coimbra Group, European Association of Research and Technology Organisations (EARTO), the European University Association (EUA), EU-LIFE - Alliance for leading research institutes in the life sciences across Europe, The Guild of European Research-Intensive Universities (The Guild), IDEA League, the Young European Research Universities Network (YERUN).


For more information please contact Marta Agostinho, EU-LIFE Executive Director.